Central Bank of Argentina

Central Bank of Argentina
Banco Central de la República Argentina
Brief History

Established in May 1935 as a central reserve bank. Initially, the government subscribed half the capital and private shareholders the rest. The private shareholders consisted of 49 banks, including 12 foreign banks. No bank was allowed to own more than 10% of the capital. The ownership structure was changed in March 1946 when the government nationalised the bank. All shares prior to nationalisation were expropriated through a 2.5% treasury bond. The bank became the sole note

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account