RBA fights to preserve secrecy

The Australian newspaper is attempting to have released the minutes of the Reserve Bank of Australia's meetings and voting records for 2003/04 released under Australia's Freedom of Information laws. But the nine-member board -- whose six external directors include billionaire Westfield Group chairman Frank Lowy, Business Council of Australia president Hugh Morgan, and Telstra chairman Donald McGauchie - is refusing. This article looks at the situation in detail.

Click here to read the article

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account