FSB unveils final TLAC standard

The FSB occupies part of the BIS tower in Basel. Photo by Dan Hinge
Dan Hinge

The Financial Stability Board (FSB) unveiled its final standard for minimum loss-absorbency held by global banks today (November 9).

The total loss-absorbing capacity (TLAC) standard will apply to all global systemically important banks (G-Sibs), and forms a central plank in efforts to make big banks resolvable.

Under the final standard, G-Sibs will be expected to hold loss-absorbency in the form of capital or 'bail-inable' debt. Banks must reach an initial minimum of 16% of risk-weighted assets

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: