South Sudan to East African Community: ‘do not reject us’

South Sudan
South Sudanese celebrate independence

South Sudan's vice-president James Wani Igga has urged the members of the East African Community (EAC) not to "reject" the fledgling nation's bid for accession.

South Sudan gained independence from Sudan in July 2011. Even before then, in June, it applied to join Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda in the EAC.

This week the EAC secretariat sent a ‘high level technical mission' to the country to "gain a better understanding" of the country's preparations.

Igga announced the conflict in so

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: