ECB launches programme to prepare Balkan central banks for EU


The European Central Bank (ECB) today launched a eurosystem co-operation programme with the Bank of Albania (BoA), the Central Bank of the Republic of Kosovo (CBRK) and the National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia (NBRM). The programme aims to prepare the three central banks to join the European System of Central Banks (ESCB), once the countries qualify for European Union (EU) membership.

The EU has allocated €500,000 to the programme from its instrument for pre-accession sssistance. The

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account