East African states strike deal over monetary union


The heads of state of five East African countries have signed a protocol committing to establish a monetary union within the next 10 years.

The countries – Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda – have already formed a regional trading bloc, the East African Community (EAC), and established both a customs union and a common market.

The new protocol, signed in Uganda on November 30, seeks to integrate the countries further by establishing a single currency. It outlines the necessary steps th

To continue reading...

You must be signed in to use this feature.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: