IMFC names Tharman Shanmugaratnam as new chair

IMF headquarters in Washington DC

Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Singapore's finance minister, has been named the chair of International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC), the policy advisory committee of the IMF.

Tharman succeeds Dr. Youssef Boutros-Ghali, Egypt's former minister of finance, who quit on February 4. Tharman's term is for three years.

Tharman has been Singapore's finance minister since December 2007. Before entering politics he was the managing director of the Monetary Authority of Singapore. He is also a member o

To continue reading...