Last survivor of Bretton Woods dies

Jacques Polak, the last surviving participant of the Bretton Woods Conference in 1944 at which the International Monetary Fund (IMF) was founded, has died.

He passed away on Friday.

Dominique Strauss-Kahn, the managing director of the Fund, said that he had learnt with great sadness of Jacques Polak's death, calling him "an iconic figure" in the Fund's long history and saying that his distinguished career as an economist - a career that spanned eight decades - established him as a leader of crit

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: