Nobel prize for pioneers of economics governance


Elinor Ostrom and Oliver Williamson, two American academics, won the award for their studies of economic transactions outside of the market place.

The award, which is formally the Sveriges Riksbank award in memory of Alfred Nobel, includes a cash prize of SEK10 million ($1.43 million).

Elinor Ostrom, a professor at Indiana University and the first female recipient of the prize, was recognised for work that "demonstrated how common property can be successfully managed by user associations."


To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: