Four CIS countries consider single currency

Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russia and Ukraine are pondering the possibility of a single currency that will be legal tender on the territory of the Common Economic Area they are creating, a senior official at the Belarussian National Bank told a news conference on Thursday June 24.

In most likelihood, there will be some kind of a new currency of the four nations, not the Russian ruble, said Nikolai Luzgin, deputy president of the bank.

"This, however, is a somewhat remote prospect, and it would be too