Brussels tells new members not to rush into euro

BELGIUM - Brussels may be holding open the door to 10 new European Union members in 2004 but there were warnings yesterday that the candidate countries should not rush to join the euro.

The 10 new EU members have agreed to join the single currency at the earliest possibility, reported the Financial Times, but economists believe some countries would be better off to wait before taking the leap.

Slovenia, Cyprus, Hungary, Malta and the Baltic states are expected to be among the first to join the

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account