Green light for new ECB Board member

The Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs has voted to recommend that Parliament endorse the appointment of Jose Manuel GONZLEZ PRAMO as a member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank.

Mr Gonzalez Paramo has been nominated for a period of eight years as of 1 June 2004 to replace Eugenio DOMINGO SOLANS, who will be stepping down at the end of May. The House will vote on the committee's recommendation at the next plenary session in Strasbourg. The Heads of State or Government