Dirk Witteveen to chair Joint Forum

The Joint Forum's parent organisations announced on Wednesday 21 December the appointment of Dirk Witteveen as chair of the Joint Forum for a two-year term beginning January 2006.

The Joint Forum comprises the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS), the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO), and the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS).

Mr Witteveen, who succeeds Ian Johnston of the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission in this role, is a