Select Committee on Treasury Fourth Report

REPORT - The Treasury Committee has agreed to the following Report: Appointment to the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England of Ms Marian Bell and Mr Paul Tucker, 24 May.


In October 1997, in their Report Accountability of the Bank of England,[1] our predecessors announced their intention to hold confirmation hearings to establish whether those nominated to the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Bank of England[2] fulfilled the criteria which they specified, namely

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: