The accession countries: what is equal treatment?

Peter Kenen and Ellen Meade set out the tests the accession countries are expected to meet to join the European monetary union, and argue that these tests should be changed to take account of changed conditions.

In May 2004, ten countries are due to join the European Union1. They are therefore obliged to join the European monetary union (EMU) and adopt the euro as their national currency2. Most of them, moreover, have been eager to do that. Membership in EMU is not automatic, however, because

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account