Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO)

Brief History

Established in October 1962. Reconstituted in November 1973 as the Inter-African Corporation. The treaty on West African Monetary Union came into force in November 1962 and was revised in November 1973. It is the bank of issue and Central Bank of the West African Monetary Union. It is the central bank for the Republic of Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo and, since 1997, Guinea-Bissau.


Jean-Claude Kassi Brou
Terms of office: appointed on 4

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact info@centralbanking.com or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.centralbanking.com/subscribe

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact info@centralbanking.com to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to Central Banking? View our subscription options

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account