Central Banking

New Zealand's new coins go into circulation

Smaller, lighter 50, 20, and 10 cent coins were released Monday 31 July in New Zealand. The new coins retain the same "heads" and "tails" designs but the 10 cent coin is copper-coloured, the RBNZ said.

The introduction of smaller, lighter coins is one of New Zealand's biggest currency changes since the introduction of decimal currency on 10 July 1967, said Reserve Bank Currency Manager, Brian Lang.

"The new coins will be convenient for the public and easier for those handling coin in bulk, such

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a Central Banking account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: